Anxiety 

I’m silenced

An invisible, intangible gag in my mouth

A pit of self-consciousness I need to get out

I build up my courage and then it flies south

I’m afraid

Of what might pour out and smother you

I don’t wish to frighten with suggestions of two

But I’ve scared myself now with the conclusions I drew

I’m locked

In a miserable cage I built by myself

Along with true feelings I’m forced now to shelf

Alone with my words for you, feeling like filth

Still silenced

To this day, your presence keeps me at bay

Ready, always but always unable to say

Hoping I can one day will my anxiety away.

3 thoughts on “Anxiety 

Leave a Reply

